It is currently Thu Apr 15, 2021 7:11 am


The forum is READ ONLY. Please direct any future discussions to our Facebook page


 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:34 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Sorry but that will definately not work and will just show the data in the alt tag with {} around the sector number and look odd. It is used on browsers that display the data in the alt tag in a popup.

People should not place those brackets around that item.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 5:22 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Again, wrong.

The brakets are NOT needed in any way with the version of PHP and MySql that is recommended.

And the navmap table IS used. It is used to display the mini-nav map on the main display. The 24 closest sectors are stored there for a faster display with less cpu usage.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:03 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
The navmap is designed to be a cacheing table. Once someone visits a sector it cals the 24 closest locations and stores in the navmap table, so the next time someone visits the same sector it pulls from the navmap instead of doing those evil distance calcs everytime.

Thanks for the info though.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
It's one of MANY bugs in Internet Explorer. It's the only browser out of all of them out there that has this problem.We have moved the popup so it is very low and to the left.

Maybe if Microsoft actually made a decent browser that conformed to the standards we wouldn't have to program things in an ODD fashion to get them to work with such a non-standard browser as IE.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 4:44 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
Panama Jack wrote:
It's one of MANY bugs in Internet Explorer. It's the only browser out of all of them out there that has this problem.We have moved the popup so it is very low and to the left.

Maybe if Microsoft actually made a decent browser that conformed to the standards we wouldn't have to program things in an ODD fashion to get them to work with such a non-standard browser as IE.


Well unfortunately most of the world uses it so we gotta make things work for it ;) Ya Opera user you :)


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:33 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Opera Forever!

:twisted:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:11 am 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Well, Opera follows the internaltional stabdards that are compiled by W3C. Those are the ones MS should be following with IE. But sadly in their effort to try and CONTROL and take over EVERYTHING they ignore them and try to force their own on everyone.

Not everyone is running windows so they don't care.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron