It is currently Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:49 am


The forum is READ ONLY. Please direct any future discussions to our Facebook page


 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:18 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 22
Can anyone explain me how to get cron to work for my .30 game?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:18 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 22
Where do i have place this? What file?


*/5 * * * * /usr/bin/wget --tries=1 --timeout=10 --post-data 'admin_password="mypass"&game_number=0' -q -o /dev/null -O /dev/null http://www.

can anyone help me??


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:10 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
Check your hosts control panel to see if you can do a cron task. Thats where you would put it.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:21 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 22
i asked from my host about CronTab and they said that i cant use it.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:00 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Then you are completely out of luck and will need to use the page based cron tab.

Open the admin.phph and select Configuration. Then select Scheduler Variables. Beside the enable_pseudo_cron select Enable and save. You game will now run the cron when needed as each page refreshes. It's the only alternative for people who want to run the game but do not have access to a cron service.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:57 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 22
made a new gamesite. i am able to use cron. i placed the line i need to the cron task, but still it does not run :???:


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:46 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
If you are using the pseudo-cron you need to replace the pseudo-cron.inc.php file located in the backends\pseudo-cron directory.

https://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.p ... tid=552966



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 3:45 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 22
replace with what??


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CronTab and wget
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:27 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
The link in the message above take you to the patch file page where you can download the file.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron