It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:51 am


The forum is READ ONLY. Please direct any future discussions to our Facebook page


 Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:31 am 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Max HeadRoom wrote:
Modular code sounds good. And LordTonto - these probes would be a great start to the Research and Build techs. I am sure this is where PJ is going with the modular code.

Being a builder, I hate to suggest this- how about a planet buster probe. searches for a planet and blows up, draining energy or harming production in some way.
And a Probe killer probe. Looks for other probes.


A planet buster probe would be too much.

Now we have thought about an Energy Syphon Probe that you can real space into a sector. Once there it sucks off energy from every planet in the sector at a rate the owner of the probe PAYS for before sending the probe out. And yes even a Probe Hunter. This would be a probe that just hunted other probes. Only one could be deployed by a player at a time. It would kill any probe it finds. It doesn't die when it kills another probe so it just keeps on looking for more probes to kill.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:02 am 
AA Warrior
AA Warrior

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:20 pm
Posts: 532
What do you think of my spy probe idea?


Last edited by Valience on Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.


_________________
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:17 am 
Gamer
Gamer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:21 pm
Posts: 175
Cut off...darn.... Look at my BLOG... It is a screen capture of a seeker Probe in FED Space, but it could be a hunter probe?!?!?! in my mind anyways


Image



_________________
Why make sense, when you can make pizza! -Zippy the Pinhead.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 4:43 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Thanks Lucky.

We have changed the probes so they can no longer be dropped in Federation Sectors. We have also changed the probe movement code so probes can no longer move into Federation owned sectors.

This is information we need so we can make sure the bugs are worked out of the probe code before we release it down download next week.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:13 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Hunter Probes are now a little more intelligent. They have built in powerful scanners that will check to see who passed through the sector last. If the ship is owned by the target of the probe it will immediately start to follow the the trail.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:18 pm 
AA Warrior
AA Warrior

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:20 pm
Posts: 532
That's cool, but I suppose it only works for 300 sensors or above, right? Since that's what it takes to see the trail.

And what if the person RSed away? Are hunters bound to follow only warp link trails, or with sufficient engines, can they follow the RS trail too?



_________________
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:12 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
Val,

I do like the spy probe idea, we had talked about that way back.

From what I understand the hunters are not bound by the same rules as ships. So you may have one follow you to your doorstep, better land on that planet or try to mask where you are :)



_________________
My Blog: http://tarnusharten.aatraders.com
My Tech Blog: http://www.bswebdev.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:36 am 
AA Warrior
AA Warrior

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:20 pm
Posts: 532
Or just never set foot in RS ;)

Thanks for the feedback.



_________________
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Probes are BACK!!!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:27 pm 
AA Warrior
AA Warrior

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:20 pm
Posts: 532
Probe ATTACK! August 22 2008 13:22
Your ship was attacked by probe owned by Oak in sector [sector]. You lost 52 armor points and 446 energy units in the attack.

I'd guess that after the "probe" it's supposed to say the number. And it's just saying [sector] rather than the actual sector.



_________________
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron