It is currently Fri Sep 24, 2021 5:52 am


The forum is READ ONLY. Please direct any future discussions to our Facebook page


 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:05 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
Ahhh timing out is the key....

Try reducing your universe size or changing the max execution time setting in your php.ini the default is set to 30 secs. Since your machine is chuggin along you might bump that up a bit.

Hope this helps... seen this b4 just had been a while.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:19 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
Yeah, if you have Save Mode enabled you are locked into a maximum execution time for PHP defined by the php.ini. If it is disabled then the create_universe.php will change that to a value that will allow it to execute long enough to get the job done.

And I checked the link to the instructions for using ADOdb Lite it still works and they are there in the patches forum.

On a low powered machine or one with not much ram you should be setting your universe size to around 1000-2000 sectors maximum.

The reason for such a small universe is because of two things. ADOdb is HUGE and incredably slow. It will cause a 566 mhz machine to crawl if it doesn't have something like eAccelerator installed.

The other problem is the create_universe.php uses some incredably SLOW coding that is a hold over from when we forked the game from NGS. NGS had a bad habit of using overly long and slow coding methods. One of the reasons for a virtually complete rewrite of the game that has taken seemingly forever.

So you couple those two incredably slow things and you can bring an underpowered server to its knees easily.

Try setting up a 1000 sector game instead of the large games you have been trying to set up.



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 2:03 pm 
Developer
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 6:07 pm
Posts: 2930
ADOdb Lite doesn't support the data-dictionary from ADOdb and the schema code in 0.21 requires that support. So you need to use ADOdb to create the game but after that you can switch to ADOdb Lite (after you make the appropriate changes).



_________________
PJ's Annoyingly Useless Blog
ADOdb Lite
Template Lite
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:04 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:17 pm
Posts: 2619
Install should go a bit smoother this time around.... ;)


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron